Loading Events

Edwin Booth Award: Honoring Elevator Repair Service

« Back to Events
This event has passed.
May 12, 2014
May 12, 2014
Segal Theatre


FREE + Open to public. First come, first served.

Monday, May 12 at 6:30pm. New York’s Elevator Repair Service (ERS) is the winner of this year’s Edwin Booth Award. ERS’ body of work includes such visionary productions as Arguendo, Gatz, The Sound and the Fury, Total Fictional Lie, and Shut Up I Tell You (I Said Shut Up I Tell You). Founded in 1991 by Artistic Director John Collins, ERS’ theatre pieces are built around a broad range of subject matter and literary forms; they combine elements of slapstick comedy, hi-tech and lo-tech design, both literary and found text, and the group’s own highly developed style of choreography. John Collins and members of ERS will be present to receive the award.

The Edwin Booth Award was established in 1983 by the Doctoral Theatre Students Association to honor a person, organization, or company in recognition of their outstanding contribution to the New York City/American Theatre and Performance Community. Recipients of the Booth Award are nominated and elected exclusively by students in the program. Named after the nineteenth century tragedian Edwin Booth, renowned for his intellectual curiosity, the award promotes integration of the professional and academic theatre communities. Past honorees include: The Royal Shakespeare Company (‘83), Ellen Stewart (‘84), Joseph Papp (‘89), Arthur Miller (‘92), Richard Foreman (‘97), Tony Kushner (‘02), Karen Finley (‘08), The Living Theater (‘09), Charles Mee (‘10), and Woodie King, Jr. (’13).

Presented in collaboration with the DTSA Second Vice President Chloe Edmonson.

Upcoming Events:


Oct 4
Oct 5
Need help with the Commons? Visit our
help page
Send us a message
Skip to toolbar